Department of Civil Rights

Online Request for Services

Timeliness to file a discrimination charge with the Michigan Department of Civil Rights:

Under State Law an individual has 180 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge (complaint).

Under Federal Law an individual has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge (complaint).

Complaints of Discrimination

To initiate an inquiry because you believe someone discriminated against you in violation of civil rights laws, click the button below. A customer service representative will contact you to answer your questions, discuss your concern in detail to determine if a complaint will be taken, or to suggest alternatives to address your concern.

Information

To view information about the department's hours of operation and/or locations, please click MDCR Statewide Office Locations, or contact us by telephone at 800-482-3604 or TDD: 877-878-8464.

To request information about services provided by the Michigan Department of Civil Rights, or to request copies of our brochures or pamphlets, click the button below. If you want to print one or more brochures or pamphlets immediately, click our Online Publications List.

Community Relations

To request a presentation for your company or organization regarding topics such as Disability, Diversity, Diversity for Schools, Sexual Harassment for Employees, Sexual Harassment for Managers, Housing, Hate Crime, Discriminatory Harassment, Building Cultural Competence, and General Civil Rights Law or to report an incident of community tension or violence, click the button below.